Dutch dominance continues: ter Mors wins 1000m gold

Dutch dominance continues: ter Mors wins 1000m gold

Speed Skating - Winter Olympics Day 5

Jorien ter Mors (NED) wins the gold medal in the 1000m after finishing in an Olympic record time of 1:13.56

Ter Mors was followed by Nao Kodaira and Miho Takahi of Japan.

Ireen Wuest raced in the fourth pair and set the pace for the rest of the field early. In the end, the most decorated Olympic skater ever finished in ninth. It is the first time Wuest has not won a medal in an Olympic event she has competed in since 2010.

Heather Bergsma once again dissapointed. Bergsma was in the final heat of the event and was unable to earn a spot on the podium with a time of 1:15.15.

Brittany Bowe finished in 1:14. 36, placing her in second-place after her race. Unforutnately, as was the case in the 1500m Bowe was moved off the podium late and finished in fourth.

The 1000m was Jerica Tandiman’s (USA) second event of her inaguaral Games. The Utah natived finished in 28th place with a time of 1:18.02.


KXAN.com provides commenting to allow for constructive discussion on the stories we cover. In order to comment here, you acknowledge you have read and agreed to our Terms of Service. Users who violate these terms, including use of vulgar language or racial slurs, will be banned. If you see an inappropriate comment, please flag it for our moderators to review.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s