Elgin ISD: Important calendar dates to know this school year

FILE - City of Elgin water tower. (KXAN File Photo/Ben Friberg)
FILE - City of Elgin water tower. (KXAN File Photo/Ben Friberg)

ELGIN, Texas (KXAN) — As a new school year starts, parents, students and teachers are all marking their calendars and planners to make note of the big dates this year.

Here is a list of the important dates you need to mark on your planner (or smart phone calendar) for the 2017-2018 school year:

  • Wednesday, Aug. 16: First day of school
  • Monday, Sept. 4: Holiday — Labor day
  • Friday, Nov. 3: Early dismissal for all students
  • Monday, Nov 20-24: Thanksgiving Break
  • Tuesday, Dec. 19: Early dismissal for 6th-12th grades
  • Wednesday, Dec. 20: Early dismissal for all students
  • Thursday, Dec. 21-Jan.2: Christmas Break
  • Monday, Jan. 15: Holiday — MLK Jr. Day
  • Friday, Feb. 16: Early dismissal for all students
  • Friday, March 9: Early dismissal for all students
  • Monday, March 12-16: Spring Break
  • Monday, April 2: Weather Make-up Day
  • Friday, April 30: Holiday — Good Friday
  • Wednesday, May 23: Early dismissal for 6th-12 grades
  • Thursday, May 24: Early dismissal for all students/Last day of school
  • Friday, May 25: Weather Make-up Day

For the entire Elgin ISD school calendar, check here.

KXAN.com provides commenting to allow for constructive discussion on the stories we cover. In order to comment here, you acknowledge you have read and agreed to our Terms of Service. Users who violate these terms, including use of vulgar language or racial slurs, will be banned. If you see an inappropriate comment, please flag it for our moderators to review.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s