Skip the lines with the best kept polling secret

Voting line at UT campus around 8 p.m. on Super Tuesday. (KXAN Photo/Chris Nelson)
Voting line at UT campus around 8 p.m. on Super Tuesday. (KXAN Photo/Chris Nelson)

AUSTIN (KXAN) — With record breaking early voting numbers long lines are expected on Tuesday as Austinites head to the polls for Election Day.

The Travis County Clerk, Dana DeBeauvoir, says she won’t be surprised if voters have to wait an hour or more. Schools in east Austin are some of the most popular spots with parents dropping off their children and staying to vote.

If you want to avoid long lines DeBeauvoir says you should go to a high school. The best time to go is once the students are gone for the day as you are heading home from work.

DeBeauvoir says high schools have the shortest wait times because there is easy parking with big parking lots, and typically more voter machines helping the process move faster.

“But keep in mind for everybody that is in line voting after 7 p.m. that means we cannot tally that ballot box. So the extent we are voting for an hour or even two hours after voting closes that means it delays election results,” said DeBeauvoir.

There are five high schools in Travis County where you can vote. You can also vote at any location in which the county you are registered to vote.

A few of the schools where you can vote are listed below with the high schools highlighted. Full list of Election Day voting map here

  • Akins High School
  • Anderson High School
  • Bailey Middle School
  • Barrington Elementary School
  • Barton Hills Elementary School
  • Baty Elementary School
  • Bedichek Middle School
  • Blanton Elementary School
  • Blazier Elementary School
  • Bluebonnet Trail Elementary School
  • Bowie High School
  • Bridge Point Elementary School
  • Brookhollow Elementary School
  • Bryker Woods Elementary School
  • Burnet Middle School
  • Caldwell Elementary School
  • Canyon Creek Elementary School
  • Dailey Middle School
  • Deer Creek Elementary School
  • Doss Elementary School
  • Elgin High School
  • Gullett Elementary School
  • Hill Elementary School
  • Lanier High School
  • Laurel Mountain Elementary School
  • LBJ High School
  • McBee Elementary School
  • McCallum High School
  • Murchison Middle School
  • Northwest Elementary School
  • Parmer Lane Elementary School
  • Reilly Elementary School
  • Serene Hills Elementary School
  • Travis High School
  • Williams Elementary School
  • Zilker Elementary School provides commenting to allow for constructive discussion on the stories we cover. In order to comment here, you acknowledge you have read and agreed to our Terms of Service. Users who violate these terms, including use of vulgar language or racial slurs, will be banned. If you see an inappropriate comment, please flag it for our moderators to review.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s