Free flu shots offered for Central Texas students

Flu shot vaccine

AUSTIN (KXAN) — Schools in Central Texas are trying to fight back against the flu by giving out free flu vaccinations.

The idea for the free flu shots started in 2013 when the E3 Alliance conducted research to determine why kids were missing school. They discovered that over half of the absences were due to illness. In 2014, the organization started a small flu shot campaign to see if it helped by giving out 6,500 flu vaccinations.

This year nurses will administer 75,000 vaccinations over the next month at 370 elementary and middle schools all across the state – including most of the school districts in Central Texas. This year students will have to receive a shot instead of the flu mist due to officials finding the mist ineffective in preventing the flu the past three seasons. Doctors say the shot doesn’t give you the flu.

“You may get some symptoms due to the initial responses of the immune system but there really are no reported cases of getting the full blown flu with the vaccine,” said Dr. Adam Brittain, Physician St. David’s Medical Center.

And doctors feel confident this year’s shot will be effective.

“The flu is a virus that changes all of the time and so it’s kind of a difficult thing to immunize for but there is a lot of work that goes into tracking the flu and trying to predict what should be in the vaccine,” said Dr. Donald Murphy, Pediatric Infectious Disease Physician.

Below is a schedule of when school districts begin the E3 Alliance Kick the Flu Campaign.

Flu clinic shots schedule

kicktheflu2Monday, Sept. 12 – Hays CISD 
Tuesday, Sept. 13 – Hays CISD 
Wednesday, Sept. 14 – Austin ISD 
Thursday, September 15 – Austin ISD 
Friday, September 16 – Austin ISD 

Week 2
Monday, Sept. 19 – Austin ISD 
Tuesday, Sept. 20 – Austin ISD 
Wednesday, Sept. 21 – Austin ISD 
Thursday, Sept. 22 – Austin ISD 
Friday, Sept. 23 – Eanes ISD 

Week 3
Monday, Sept. 26 – Pflugerville ISD 
Tuesday, Sept. 27 – Pflugerville ISD 
Wednesday, Sept. 28 – Del Valle ISD 
Thursday, Sept. 29 – Round Rock ISD 

Week 4
Monday, Oct. 3 – Manor ISD 
Tuesday, Oct. 4 – Round Rock ISD 
Wednesday, Oct. 5 – Round Rock ISD 
Thursday, Oct. 6 – Round Rock ISD 
Friday, Oct. 7 – Lake Travis ISD 

Week 5
Tuesday, Oct. 11 – Leander ISD 
Wednesday, Oct. 12 – Leander ISD 
Thursday, Oct. 13 – Leander ISD 
Friday, Oct. 14 – Georgetown ISD 

Week 6
Monday, Oct. 17 – Bastrop ISD 
Tuesday, Oct. 18 – New Baunfels ISD 

Week 7 – 8
Friday, Oct. 28 – Hutto ISD 
Monday, Oct. 31 – Elgin ISD 

Children must be at least two-years-old and need adult consent forms.

Kate Weidaw is live with details on how you can protect your kids from the flu. 

KXAN.com provides commenting to allow for constructive discussion on the stories we cover. In order to comment here, you acknowledge you have read and agreed to our Terms of Service. Users who violate these terms, including use of vulgar language or racial slurs, will be banned. If you see an inappropriate comment, please flag it for our moderators to review.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s