Vote in Tuesday’s runoff election

KXAN FILE - Vote sign

AUSTIN (KXAN) — Polls in Tuesday’s Primary Runoff Election in Travis County will be open from 7 a.m. to 7 p.m.

If you’re not sure what voting districts you’re in, find out here. 

The county clerk has posted sample Travis County Republican and Democratic ballots. 

Key races

State Senator, District 24 — Republican

Susan King and Dawn Buckingham vie for the Republican nomination. King is serving her fifth term in the Texas House representing District 71. She is a nurse and co-owner of an ambulatory surgical center in Abilene.

Buckingham is an eye surgeon who lives in Lakeway. She served as a trustee on the Lake Travis ISD School Board. Buckingham has endorsements from former Gov. Rick Perry and former Land Commissioner Jerry Patterson.

District 24 stretches from Abilene to the Hill Country and into southwest Austin. Incumbent Republican Troy Fraser is stepping down after 20 years in the Texas Senate. The winner will face Democrat Jennie Lou Leeder in November.

Texas House, District 73 — Republican

Incumbent Doug Miller is running against Kyle Biedermann for the Republican nomination. The winner will be unopposed in November, as no Democrats are on the ballot. District 73 spans from the Hill Country around Fredericksburg to New Braunfels.

Miller, the president of an insurance agency in New Braunfels, was first elected to the Texas House in 2008. He chairs the House Committee on Special Purpose Districts, which oversees utility water districts.

Biedermann owns Ace Hardware in Fredericksburg. He calls himself a Christian Conservative and says he’s running a grassroots campaign. He has picked up endorsements from anti-toll road groups and Empower Texans.

Empower Texans is targeting 15 other House incumbents.

Travis County Commisioner, Pct. 1 — Democrat

Incumbent Ron David, who has been on the court since 1998, is not running for re-election.

Jeff Travillion and Arthur Sampson are running against each other for the Democratic nomination. Travillion works for the city of Austin Code Department. He’s a former president of the NAACP Austin chapter and also served as president of the Black Austin Democrats.

Sampson retired after 30 years of working for the city of Austin, most recently as a project coordinator. He also worked part-time as an officer in Elgin and Manor.

The winner will face Republican Pat McCord in the November election.

Bastrop County Sheriff — Republican

Incumbent Terry Pickering is not running for re-election. Maurice Cook and Matthew Henderson are seeking the Republican nomination Tuesday.

Cook worked in DPS for more than 30 years before becoming chief of the Texas Rangers. Henderson serves as constable for Bastrop County Precinct 3. He ran as a Democrat, but switched parties in December of 2015 to run as a Republican for sheriff.

Travis county voting locations

If you’re on mobile, visit the location map here. 

Visit the following websites for additional information on Williamson County, Bastrop County, Hays County and Travis County. provides commenting to allow for constructive discussion on the stories we cover. In order to comment here, you acknowledge you have read and agreed to our Terms of Service. Users who violate these terms, including use of vulgar language or racial slurs, will be banned. If you see an inappropriate comment, please flag it for our moderators to review.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s