Tryon Lewis new Texas Transportation Commission chair

Tryon Lewis (Courtesy: Odessa Law Firm website)

AUSTIN (KXAN) — Gov. Greg Abbott has named Tryon Lewis chair of the Texas Transportation Commission, which oversees the Texas Department of Transportation. Abbott will decide when Lewis’ term will expire.

From Odessa, Lewis is a former state representative from Texas’ 81st District, serving from 2008 through 2015. Prior to serving in the Texas Legislature, Lewis practiced law in Odessa from 1973 through 1984 — with a primary emphasis on civil litigation. Lewis then took office in 1985 as a state district judge of the 161st District and served there until February 2006, after which he returned to practicing law.

John Wittman with the Governor’s Office says they chose Lewis based on his background and record.  He says it was time for a new chair and has nothing to do with TxTAG directly.

During Lewis’ legislative career, he served as the chairman of the Judiciary and Civil Jurisprudence Committee from 2013 through 2015. He was also the co-chair of the Joint House Senate Committee on Judicial Selection in 2014. Lewis is currently a partner at Atkins, Hollman Jones, Peacock, Lewis & Lyon Law Firm. provides commenting to allow for constructive discussion on the stories we cover. In order to comment here, you acknowledge you have read and agreed to our Terms of Service. Users who violate these terms, including use of vulgar language or racial slurs, will be banned. If you see an inappropriate comment, please flag it for our moderators to review.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s