Kolkhorst wins Texas Senate race to replace Hegar

AUSTIN, Texas (AP) — Veteran state Rep. Lois Kolkhorst has won a Texas Senate special election to replace Comptroller-elect Glen Hegar.

Unofficial results indicate the Republican from Brenham received 21,833 votes — or 56 percent of the total votes — with all precincts reported.

Hegar resigned his Senate District 18 seat after his election as comptroller last month.

Kolkhorst was endorsed by Hegar, outgoing Gov. Rick Perry and Gov.-elect Greg Abbott. She campaigned on border security in a mostly rural district running between parts of Harris County and Corpus Christi.

Saturday’s crowded race featured two other Republicans: businessmen Gary Gates, who had the next highest vote total with 13,414, and Charles Gregory. Democrats Cindy Drabek and Christian Hawkins also ran.

The 2015 legislative session begins Jan. 13.


Copyright 2014 The Associated Press. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.

KXAN.com provides commenting to allow for constructive discussion on the stories we cover. In order to comment here, you acknowledge you have read and agreed to our Terms of Service. Users who violate these terms, including use of vulgar language or racial slurs, will be banned. If you see an inappropriate comment, please flag it for our moderators to review.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s