May runoff brings more than 20 matchups

Several political races are still up in the air in Texas, as candidates prepare for the May 27 primary runoff.

All eyes are on the GOP contest for lieutenant governor as incumbent David Dewhurst matches up against state Sen. Dan Patrick, R-Houston, who bested Dewhurst by 13 percentage points on March 4.

Some politicos predict strong grassroots support will be in Tea Party favorite Patrick’s best interest, because runoff elections typically have smaller voter turnout. Those who usually show up to the polls are the most dedicated and engaged.

But the timing of this runoff could be what Dewhurst needs to grab more voters’ attention. Because of the 2010 Military and Overseas Voter Empowerment (MOVE) Act, Texas runoff elections are now held 12 weeks after the first ballot, not six weeks like before. This is to allow members of the military and Americans living in other countries the necessary time to cast their vote.

But the MOVE Act was in effect in 2012, when Ted Cruz beat Dewhurst in a contentious runoff for the U.S. Senate nomination. However, Texas’ redistricting fight pushed the initial vote to May, then the runoff until July – a major challenge to attract voters in the middle of the summer for Dewhurst’s campaign.

Wednesday is the last day candidates have to drop out of a runoff. Already, Rep. Harvey Hilderbrand, R-Kerrville, bowed out of the competition for the GOP nomination for comptroller to Sen. Glenn Hegar, R-Katy.

Here is a list of the runoff races voters can expect in May:


U.S. Representative District 4

·         Ralph M. Hall (Incumbent)

·         John Ratcliffe

U.S. Representative District 23

·         Francisco “Quico” Canseco

·         Will Hurd

U.S. Representative District 36

·         Brian Babin

·         Ben Streusand

Lieutenant Governor

·         David Dewhurst (Incumbent)

·         Dan Patrick

Attorney General

·         Dan Branch

·         Ken Paxton

Commissioner of Agriculture

·         Tommy Merritt

·         Sid Miller

Railroad Commissioner

·         Wayne Christian

·         Ryan Sitton

State Board of Education District 11

·         Patricia “Pat” Hardy (Incumbent)

·         Eric Mahroum

State Senator, District 2

·         Bob Deuell (Incumbent)

·         Bob Hall

State Senator District 10

·         Konni Burton

·         Mark M. Shelton

State Representative District 10

·         T.J. Fabby

·         John Wray

State Representative District 16

·         Will Metcalf

·         Ted Seago

State Representative District 53

·         Rob Henneke

·         Andrew S. Murr

State Representative District 58

·         DeWayne Burns

·         Philip Eby

State Representative District 66

·         Glenn Callison

·         Matt Shaheen

State Representative District 102

·         Stefani Carter (Incumbent)

·         Linda Koop

State Representative 108

·         Morgan Meyer

·         Chart Wescott

State Representative District 129

·         Sheryl Berg

·         Dennis Paul

State Representative District 132

·         Ann Hodge

·         Mike Schofield


U.S. Senator

·         David M. Alameel

·         Kesha Rogers

Commissioner of Agriculture

·         Richard “Kinky” Friedman

·         Jim Hogan

State Board of Education District 13

·         Erika Beltran

·         Andrea Hilburn

State Representative District 76

·         Cesar Blanco

·         Norma Chavez

State Representative Distict 105

·         Terry Meza

·         Susan Motley provides commenting to allow for constructive discussion on the stories we cover. In order to comment here, you acknowledge you have read and agreed to our Terms of Service. Users who violate these terms, including use of vulgar language or racial slurs, will be banned. If you see an inappropriate comment, please flag it for our moderators to review.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s