New classes and districts for most after UIL realignment

The biennial UIL realignment and reclassification had an added twist this year.  With the addition of a conference 6A for the biggest high schools in Texas, just about everyone will appear to be changing classifications.

In Central Texas Hays, Lehman, and Rouse high schools are making the jump from 4A to 6A.

Hays and Lehman will be part of a nine-team district 14-6A that will include Austin High, Akins, Anderson, Bowie, Lake Travis, Westlake and Del Valle. That means nine schools will be battling for four playoff spots this fall.

Rouse is making the jump to 13-6A with Pflugerville, Hendrickson, Round Rock, McNeil, Stony Point, Westwood, and Cedar Ridge.

For a complete list of the new-look districts click here. provides commenting to allow for constructive discussion on the stories we cover. In order to comment here, you acknowledge you have read and agreed to our Terms of Service. Users who violate these terms, including use of vulgar language or racial slurs, will be banned. If you see an inappropriate comment, please flag it for our moderators to review.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s